Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Extraordinary
Book
2010
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Booklist Review

Phoebe, a descendant of the legendary Mayer Rothschild and his banking family, is drawn to odd fellow seventh-grader Mallory and vows to befriend her. What readers already know is that Mallory has left the faerie world at the behest of her queen to settle a score, though details of what's at stake are deliciously drawn out. The story jumps six years. Now 18, Mallory is a beauty and Phoebe is not, but the balance of power seemingly stays with Phoebe, whose family has offered both kindness and money to simplify Mallory's life. As she understands the meaning of friendship, it becomes difficult for her to draw Phoebe into a web of deception. Enter Mallory's brother, Ryland, older, more cunning, and willing to do what he must to save the faerie world. Medieval Jewish history, ethical questions, faeries, modern romance. Whew! In the hands of a less-talented author, this would be a hot mess. Happily, Werlin crafts her characters so deftly and unrolls the story so cleverly that despite some rough juxtapositions (and a final meandering conversation), readers will be under the spell till the end.--Cooper, Ilene Copyright 2010 Booklist

  Kirkus Review

The Killer's Cousin (1998), Double Helix (2004) and The Rules of Survival (2006)? (Fantasy. YA)]] Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.
Summary
For fans of Beautiful Creatures and Wicked Lovely , New York Times Bestselling author Nancy Werlin delivers a captivating novel of friendship and trust, where the past determines the future and a generations-old curse requires the ultimate sacrifice. <br>  <br>  <br> Phoebe is drawn to Mallory, the strange and secretive new girl at school. Soon the two become as close as sisters . . . until Mallory's magnetic older brother, Ryland, arrives. Ryland has an immediate hold on Phoebe -- but it turns into something dangerous, as she begins to question her feelings about her best friend and, worse, about herself. Soon Phoebe discovers the shocking, fantastical truth about Ryland and Mallory, and about an age-old debt she's meant to pay. Will she be strong enough to save herself from the curse? Intensely page-turning, this follow-up to Nancy Werlin's acclaimed novel Impossible links the real and the otherworldly in a story that is suspenseful, conversation-starting, and utterly alluring. Continue reading about the Fairy Realm in Werlin's Unthinkable .<br> <br> <br> "Werlin raises interesting questions about honesty, love, and what it truly means to be extraordinary" -- Publishers Weekly <br>  <br> "Werlin crafts her characters so deftly and unrolls the story so cleverly that...readers will be under the spell till the end." -- Booklist <br>  <br> "As she did in Impossible Werlin smoothly blends contemporary realism and fantasy." -- The Horn Book <br> <p> </p>
Displaying 1 of 1