Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Firelight
Book
2010
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  Booklist Review

Descended from dragons, the draki's ability to appear human protects them from hunters. Jacinda lives with her pride in the Cascades, but she chafes under her special status as the only fire-breather in hundreds of years. Recklessly breaking the no-fly rule, she attracts hunters; mercifully, one hunter, a beautiful boy who looks upon her with wonder, lets her escape. After this, the pride intends to hobble her rebelliousness, and Jacinda is forced to flee. But while twin sister Tamra, who never manifested and was shunned, is happy with the move, Jacinda feels only anguish within Nevada's desert climate. Then she meets Will and, despite recognizing him as the same draki hunter, feels herself come alive. Jordan's compelling addition to the supernatural star-crossed lovers theme is equal parts taut suspense and sensuous romance, with visceral writing and believable relationships among characters, particularly among Jacinda's family. A foreshadowed twist and a thrilling confrontation in the end pages leave Jacinda heartbroken and in trouble, and readers will howl for more.--Hutley, Krista Copyright 2010 Booklist

  Kirkus Review

Dragon shapeshifters steam more than sparkle in this romantic fantasy. High schooler Jacinda is the treasure of her "draki" pride, the first firebreather in centuries. But after flouting the rules once too often, she is forced to flee to a "normal" human life that leaves her dragon-self withering--until she meets Will. Although his family hunts her kind, she can't resist the immediate attraction. But any involvement with Will endangers all dragonkind, and her intended draki mate isn't ready to let her go. The first-person, present-tense narration fires up the intensity with short choppy sentences and vivid sensual descriptions. Jacinda's self-centered viewpoint scarcely acknowledges any other character--even Will displays little personality beyond being Beautiful, Tortured and Desperately in Love. Some might cavil at the instantaneous passionate bond between lovers who keep so many secrets and wonder at the implausible logistics of draki society. But this isn't a story for skeptics; it's all about swooning at the tragic star-crossed love, savoring the brooding jealousy of the obligatory triangle and agonizing over the abrupt cliffhanger ending. Just surrender to the sizzle. (Paranormal romance. YA)]] Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.
Summary
<p>The first book in an addictive, romantic trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Tahereh Mafi, and Claudia Gray.</p> <p>With her rare ability to breathe fire, Jacinda is special even among the draki--the descendants of dragons who can shift between human and dragon forms.</p> <p>But when Jacinda's rebelliousness forces her family to flee into the human world, she struggles to adapt, even as her draki spirit fades. The one thing that revives it is the gorgeous, elusive Will, whose family hunts her kind. Jacinda can't resist getting closer to him, even though she knows she's risking not only her life but the draki's most closely guarded secret.</p> <p>Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide, from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan.</p>
Displaying 1 of 1